

Municipality of Crowsnest Pass

Organizational Meeting of Council Minutes

Tuesday, October 24, 2023

An Organizational meeting of the Council of the Municipality of Crowsnest Pass was held in Council Chambers on Thursday, October 24, 2023.

Council Present:

Mayor Blair Painter, Councillors: Vicki Kubik, Dave Filipuzzi, Doreen Glavin, Glen Girhiny, Lisa Sygutek, and Dean Ward.

Administration Present:

Patrick Thomas, Chief Administrative Officer Kristin Ivey, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer Brian McCulloch, Director of Finance Bonnie Kawasaki, Recording Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Blair Painter called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

ORG 01-2023-10-24: Councillor Ward moved to adopt the agenda as presented.

Carried

2023-2024 Deputy Mayor Schedule

ORG 02-2023-10-24: Councillor Sygutek moved to adopt the 2023-2024 Deputy Mayor Schedule as presented.

Carried

November/December 2023 Councillor Lisa Sygutek
January/February 2024 Councillor Glen Girhiny
March/April 2024 Councillor Doreen Glavin
May/June 2024 Councillor Dave Filipuzzi
July/August 2024 Councillor Vicki Kubik
September/October 2024 Councillor Dean Ward

Council Committee Appointments

PAGE 2 OF 7 Organizational Meeting of Council – Tuesday, October 24, 2023

ORG 03-2023-10-24: Councillor Ward moved to approve the 2023-2024 Council Committee Appointments as amended.

Carried

Internal Committees - 2023-2024

Agriculture Service Board	Bylaw 1020, 2018	Councillors Glavin, Kubik, & Filipuzzi
Community Marketing Advisory Committee	Bylaw 1055, 2020	Councillors Sygutek & Glavin
Crowsnest Community Library Board*	Bylaw 1027, 2019	Councillors Glavin & Sygutek
Crowsnest Pass Senior Housing Board*	Bylaw 1028, 2019 and Ministerial Order H:091/95 with amending Ministerial Order	Councillors Filipuzzi & Ward
Emergency Management Committee	Bylaw 1026, 2019	Mayor Painter, & Councillors Sygutek, Girhiny, & Ward
Family & Community Support Services Advisory Committee	Bylaw 1055, 2020	Councillors Sygutek & Ward
Municipal Historic Resources Advisory Committee	Bylaw 1055, 2020	Councillors Girhiny & Kubik
Municipal Planning Commission*	Bylaw 1042, 2020	Councillors Filipuzzi & Ward
Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee	Bylaw 1055, 2020	Councillors Sygutek & Girhiny

Mayor is named Ex Officio on all Boards & Committees except designated by *

PAGE 3 OF 7 Organizational Meeting of Council – Tuesday, October 24, 2023

External Organizations - 2023-2024

Mayor Painter
Mayor Painter
Councillor Glavin
Councillor Girhiny
Mayor Painter, Councillors Girhiny & Kubik
Councillors Ward, Glavin, & Filipuzzi
Councillor Kubik
Mayor Painter
Councillors Ward & Filipuzzi Councillor Girhiny (Alternate)
Councillors Ward & Filipuzzi Councillor Girhiny (Alternate)
Mayor Painter & Councillor Ward
Mayor Painter
Councillors Ward & Filipuzzi
Councillor Girhiny
Councillors Kubik & Girhiny
Mayor Painter
Councillor Ward

2024 Council Meeting Dates

ORG 04-2023-10-24: Councillor Glavin moved to approve the 2024 Schedule of Council Meeting Dates as presented.

Carried



2024 Schedule of Council Meetings

Approved October 24, 2023

AN UARY

16 · COUNCIL - 1:00 pm 23 · COUNCIL - 7:00 pm

MARCH

5 - COUNCIL - 7:00 pm 12 · COUNCIL - 1:00 pm

MAY

7 - COUNCIL - 7:00 pm 28 · COUNCIL - 7:00 pm

<u>JULY</u>

9 - COUNCIL - 7:00 pm 16 · COUNCIL - 1:00 pm

SEPTEMBER

10 · COUNCIL - 7:00 pm 17 · COUNCIL - 7:00 pm

NOVEMBER

19 · COUNCIL - 7:00 pm 26 · COUNCIL - 1:00 pm

28 - SPECIAL BUDGET MEETING - 9:00 am

FEBRUARY

6 - COUNCIL - 7:00 pm 13 · COUNCIL - 1:00 pm 27 · COUNCIL - 7:00 pm

APRIL

9 - COUNCIL - 7:00 pm 16 - COUNCIL - 1:00 pm 23 COUNCIL - 7:00 pm

<u>JUNE</u>

11 · COUNCIL - 7:00 pm 25 · COUNCIL - 7:00 pm

AUGUST

15 · SPECIAL BUDGET MEETING - 1.00 pm 20- COUNCIL - 7:00 pm 27 · COUNCIL - 1:00 pm

OCTOBER

10 · SPECIAL BUDGET MEETING - 9:00 am

8 - COUNCIL - 1:00 pm

22 · ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF COUNCIL - 7:00 pm

22 · COUNCIL - 7:30 pm

DECEMBER

5- SPECIAL BUDGET MEETING - 9:00 am

10 · COUNCIL - 1:00 pm

17 · COUNCIL - 7:00 pm

IN CAMERA

ORG 05-2023-10-24: Councillor Glavin moved that Council go In Camera for the purpose of discussion of matters of Personal Privacy under the FOIP Act Section 17 at 7:08 pm:

- Personal Privacy Expiration of Terms and or Resignation of Board Members FOIP Act Section 17
- Personal Privacy Board Member Applications FOIP Act Section 17

Carried

RECONVENE

Mayor Painter convened the In Camera meeting at 7:09 pm. Patrick Thomas, Chief Administrative Officer, Kristin Ivey, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer, Brian McCulloch, Director of Finance and Bonnie Kawasaki, Executive Assistant remained in attendance to provide advice to Council.

OUT OF IN CAMERA

ORG 06-2023-10-24: Councillor Filipuzzi moved that Council come out of In Camera at 7:17 pm.

Carried

Expiration of Terms and or Resignation of Board Members

ORG 07-2023-10-24: Councillor Girhiny moved that Council accept the notifications provided by board members who are not renewing terms and to direct Administration to write letters thanking each member for their service.

Carried

Melisa Atkinson, ASB
Teyel Strandquist, CMAC
Donna Stelmachovich CPSH
Gaston Aubin MPC & MHRAC

Larry Hennig, PRAC

Mirjam Thielen, PPKSS Don Budgen, MHRAC Fred Bradley, MHRAC Barbara Ann Hession PPKSS Andy Vanderplas SDAB

Community Marketing Advisory Committee

ORG 08-2023-10-24: Councillor Filipuzzi moved that Council appoint John McCann and Justin Ames to 3-year terms ending December 31, 2026 on the Community Marketing Advisory Committee with both terms commencing January 1, 2024 and to direct Administration to advertise to fill the remaining vacancy.

Carried

Crowsnest Pass Senior Housing Board

ORG 09-2023-10-24: Councillor Ward moved that Council appoint Cathy Painter and Deb Ruzek to 3-year terms ending on December 31, 2026, and Diane Nummi to a 2-year term ending on December 31, 2025 on the Crowsnest Pass Senior Housing Board with all terms commencing January 1, 2024.

Carried

Family and Community Support Services Advisory Committee

ORG 10-2023-10-24: Councillor Glavin moved that Council re-appoint Barbara Kelly to 3-year terms ending December 31, 2026, on the Family and Community Support Services Advisory Committee with the term commencing January 1, 2024.

Carried

Crowsnest Pass Community Library Board

ORG 1 1-20 2340-24: Councillor Filipuzzi moved that Council reappoint Nicole Stafford and Margaret Thomas to 3-year terms ending December 31, 2026, on the Crowsnest Pass Community Library Board with the terms commencing January 1, 2024.

Carried

Municipal Historic Resources Advisory Committee

ORG 122 023-10-24: Councillor Girhiny moved that Council appoint Howard Vandenhoef, Bellevue Underground Mine Representative to a 3-year term ending on December 31, 2026, Dawn Rigby, Community Futures Representative to a 3-year term ending on December 31, 2026 and Bruce Nimmo to a 3-year term ending on December 31, 2026 on the Municipal Historic Resources Advisory Committee with all terms commencing January 1, 2024.

Carried

Municipal Planning Commission

ORG 13-2023-10-24: Councillor Ward moved that Council appoint Justin Ames to a 3-year term ending on December 31, 2026 and Doreen Johnson to a 3-year term ending on December 31, 2026 on the Municipal Planning Commission with terms commencing January 1, 2024.

Carried

Pass Powderkeg Ski Society

ORG14-2023-10- 24 Councillor Girhiny moved that Council appoint Marty Neumeier and Jef Fisher to 3-year terms ending December 31, 2026, on the Pass Powderkeg Ski Society with terms commencing January 1, 2024 and to direct Administration to continue advertising to fill the other vacancy.

Carried

ADJOURNMENT

ORG 15-2023-10-24: Councillor Filipuzzi moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:21 pm.

Carried

Blair Painter

Mayor

Patrick Thomas

Chief Administrative Officer